May 2016

Matthew Erickson announces his 2016 bid for Minnesota’s 2nd Congressional District Seat

Minnesota’s 2nd Congressional District is a battleground district in 2016. Republican incumbent John Kline, who began serving in Congress in 2002, chose not to run for re-election in 2016, leaving the seat open. Several Republicans have formally declared candidacy for the seat: David Gerson, John Howe, Jason Lewis and Darlene Miller. Pam Myhra (R) ran briefly, but withdrew in February 2016. At this time, Angie Craig is the sole Democratic candidate. Her competitor, Mary Lawrence, also withdrew from the race in early 2016. The primary elections will take place on August 9, 2016. The general election will take place on November 8, 2016.

Open note to Minneapolis Park Board president Liz Wielinski: Both MPRB and Mpls NAACP guilty of malfeasance

Ms. Wielinski, I cannot stand with the professor or her arguments on white supremacy, but from my vantage point, there is a challenge within the hiring construct of the Park Board. It is racist, bigoted and in 2015-16 does send black “qualified” professionals back to the time of “White Only drinking fountains.”

Open letter to the Mayor’s Husband: Gary Cunningham – Don’t worry, it will be okay…

Your position at the Minneapolis Economic Development Association (MEDA), again in my opinion, denotes you have cordial and diplomatic community engagement. If you’ve done this to me, how many more people have experienced the shutdown of engagement from you. This creates and issue for you; the community and any political ventures you support.